Skip to content

DPI55 is finished!!!

April 24, 2010

OK, the CD is finished!


01. Ultravox – Vienna
02. Kim Wilde – Kids In America
03. Devo – Whip It
04. Spandau Ballet – To Cut A Long Story Short
05. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – Enola Gay
06. Soft Cell – Tainted Dust
07. Bronski Beat – Smalltown Boy
08. Duran Duran – Planet Earth
09. Phil Oakey & Giorgio Moroder – Together In Electric Dreams
10. New Order – Blue Monday
11. Gary Numan – Cars
12. Simple Minds – New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)
13. Pet Shop Boys – West End Girls
14. Visage – Fade To Grey
15. Thompson Twins – Love On Your Side
16. Blancmange – Living On The Ceiling
17. Paul Hardcastle – 19
18. Tears For Fears – Mad World
19. Yazoo – Situation (US 12″ Mix)


All the tracks were taken directly from the Ministry Of Sound (hereafter referred as MOS) album except for the following…

Track 02. Restored Kim Wilde’s “Kids In America” back to its full length [source: the newly remastered Kim Wilde CD that came out last year on Cherry Pop].

Track 06. Rather than using the horrifically mastered version of Soft Cell’s “Tainted Love / Where Did Our Love Go” from the MOS CD, I used my own “Tainted Dust” version that I’ve been playing for the last couple of years – this is taken from the CD single that came out in 1991 but has had a minute carefully trimmed off the end as the song really does start to drag at the end…

Track 10. Restored “Blue Monday back to its full uncut length. [Source: the “Singles” compilation that came out in 2005. This version is pretty poorly mastered (look up “loudness war” on Google) but it fit volume-wise with the rest of the MOS album and was the best version to use in the limited time I had].

Track 13. Used the full album version of “West End Girls” from the Pet Shop Boys debut album “Please”. There was nothing wrong with the 7″ version that was used on the MOS album but I had the extra space so made the most of it! [Source: the re-issued version from 2001].

Track 15. As above, I used the album version of “Love On Your Side” rather than the 7″ version. [Source: the remstered version from 2008].

Track 19. Restored Yazoo’s “Situation” back to the full U.S. 12″ version as lovingly remixed by the legendary Francois Kevorkian. [Source: the “Only Yazoo” compilation from 1999].

Finally, at the end of Track 18 (“Mad World” by Tears For Fears) I looped the tambourine a few times so it didn’t fade out as suddenly and fit in better with the final track. I also put “Mad World” with “19” as, well, they kinda fit thematically, don’tcha think? 😉


The Eighties night was last night and was a huge success. I pressed up exactly 150 copies of the CD and they all went like hot cakes!! Hope people are enjoying it today. If you’ve not got one and want one, contact me and I’ll post one to you..

p.s. there’s an Easter Egg on the CD too. Can you find it? 🙂

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: